Elections 2014 Results: Congress MP Hamdulla Sayeed defeated in Lakshadweep

Hamdulla Sayeed

Hamdulla Sayeed

Elections 2014 Results: Congress MP Hamdulla Sayeed defeated in Lakshadweep
16 May, 2014 By PTI |

KAVARATTI: Sitting Congress MP Hamdulla Sayeed, who was aiming for a second stint in the Lok Sabha, was humbled by NCP’s P P Mohammed Faisal in a fierce contest in the Union Territory of Lakshadweep.

Faisal, who had led in all the four rounds of counting, polled 21,665 votes against Hamdulla’s 20,130 votes.

 Son of late Union Minister P M Sayeed, Hamdulla, had defeated Dr P Pookunhikoya of NCP by 2198 votes in 2009 to become the youngest parliamentarian in the 15th Lok Sabha.

The constituency had recorded 87.05 per cent polling in the April 10 polls against 85.98 per cent in 2009 elections. The constituency comprises 27 islands of which only 10 are inhabited.

 The total strength of the electorate is 49,821; 25,342 men and 24,479 women, besides 101 service voters.

 Minicoy, Amini, Androth, Chetelath, Kiltan, Kadmath, Kalpeni, Kavratti (headquarter island), Agatti and Bitra are the inhabited islands in the union territory.

 Six contestants were in fray in the elections in which CPI(M), BJP and Samajwadi Party had also put up candidates.

 A Congress bastion, the constituency was represented in the Lok Sabha by P M Sayeed for 10 terms from 1967 till 2004.

Read more election updates at:

Lakshadweep Tourism, Lakshadweep Islands:

Peak Season Availability at Kadmat Beach Resort, Lakshadweep – Starting from December 01, 2014 to January 10, 2015

Discover the beauty of Lakshadweep Islands on a 5 Day Cruise Programme – 2014 -2015


This entry was posted in Elections 2014 Results, Kadmat, Kavaratti, Lakshadweep, Lakshadweep Corruption, Lakshadweep information, Lakshadweep news, Lakshadweep Tourism, Minicoy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply